Jump to Navigation

Loudoun County DUI Lawyer

Loudoun County is one of the fastest growing counties in Virginia and its court system is growing with it. As Loudoun changes from a small rural jurisdiction to one of the largest jurisdictions in Virginia it’s courts, its prosecutors and its judges have changed too.

Penalties for DUI in Loudoun County.

loudoun county dui lawyer

call (703) 383-9222 for a free consultation with a Loudoun county DUI lawyer and a free copy of The Virginia DUI Handbook.

If you are convicted of DUI or DWI in Loudoun County you are facing some very serious penalties. A misdemeanor DUI conviction comes with up to 12 months in jail. A felony DUI 3rd or 4th comes with up to 5 years in prison.

There are often mandatory minimum jail sentences when your blood alcohol readings are .15 or higher, if you have a prior DUI conviction or if there was minor in the car when you committed a DUI. However, just because you can go to jail does not mean you will go to jail. Talk to an experienced Loudoun County DUI lawyer to find out what potential jail sentences you are facing.

A DUI 1st comes with a 12 month loss of license, a DUI 2nd comes with a 3 year loss of license, and a DUI third offense comes with an indefinite loss of your driving privileges.

Whether or not you can be granted a restricted license depends on your case, the judge, your driving record and what state your license is from. Talk to a Loudoun County DUI lawyer to find out whether you would qualify for a restricted license.

If you are granted a restricted license, you will be required to install ignition interlock for a minimum of 6 months. You will be expected to pay for the ignition interlock and to never blow a failed test.

Any DUI conviction comes with mandatory VASAP or “ASAP” (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program) class. These classes are a minimum of 10 weeks, for two hours a week but they can involve much more additional counseling or substance abuse treatment. The cost of ASAP is a minimum of about $450, but the additional treatment can be thousands of dollars.

The maximum fine for any DUI is $2,500 however the mandatory minimum fine various depending on the type of DUI.

However, just because there are so many serious penalties for a DUI conviction does not mean that you will have to experience all of these penalties or that you will be found guilty at all. DUI cases are extremely complicated and difficult to predict. Never assume that you will be found guilty. Call a lawyer with experience defending DUIs in Loudoun County and find out what defenses may be available to you.

Call Nichols & Green pllc if you need a Loudoun County DUI lawyer.

DUIs are complicated. If you have been charged with a DUI, DWI or refusal in Loudoun County you was a lawyer who focuses their practice on DUI law and who knows Loudoun County. Call Nichols & Green today to set up a free consultation with a Loudoun County DUI lawyer. We will be happy to discuss your case in person or over the phone.

Loudoun County DUI attorney

Call Loudoun County DUI attorney Luke Nichols for a free consultation (703) 383-9222.

Luke J. Nichols has spent his entire career defending DUI cases. Mr. Nichols has researched and written much on Virginia DUI law. Mr. Nichols is the author of The Virginia DUI Handbook (2nd Ed) and he is the author of several other books on Virginia traffic and criminal law. Mr. Nichols has also completed the NHTSA based law enforcement training for the standardized field sobriety tests and the instructor’s course as well.

Mr. Green has been practicing law in Virginia for over 25 years. He has defended hundreds of drivers in Virginia courts. Mr. Green has tremendous experience as DUI lawyer.

If you would like to speak to a Loudoun County DUI Lawyer call Nichols & Green pllc today for a free consultation (703) 383-9222. Our lawyers will be happy to discuss your case, what defenses you have, what you should do to prepare and we will give you an exact written quote for our legal services.

Call today to set up a free consultation over the phone or in person (703) 383-9222.

 

Print Page