Jump to Navigation

Hit and Run

Have You Been Charged With Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

While many people associate the term hit-and-run with serious auto accidents, most hit-and-run accusations don’t involve any injuries. Many Virginia drivers are charged with leaving the scene of an accident when a minor collision or bump has occurred. Many hit-and-runs are in conjunction with a DUI charge.

If you have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony related to a collision, the attorneys of Nichols & Green can help you understand your legal rights and defend you against the charges. Our firm handles hundreds of traffic cases each year, including many hit-and-run cases that we take to trial and win. We can represent you if:

  • Your car or truck allegedly did damage to state or private property, such as a guardrail, fence or sign.
  • Your car or truck hit a parked vehicle and you were charged because you allegedly did not leave complete insurance information.
  • A collision you were involved in caused damage to another vehicle.
  • Passengers were injured in a vehicle that your car or truck collided with.
  • You were charged with a DUI-related hit-and-run.

Virginia Hit-and-Run Punishments

In Virginia, hit-and-runs involve complicated laws. The amount of property damage, whether the damaged property was attended or not, and whether you were the driver or passenger all affect the outcome. Hit-and-run can be a felony or misdemeanor. It can involve a license suspension or it may not. It may involve jail time or it may not.

Statute Description Sentencing Factors Offense Jail/Prison Suspension Fine
46.2-894 Hit and Run attended property (Drivers) Injury, Death, or Damage >$1,000 5 Felony 0 – 10 years 0-6 mos. $2,500
only damage <$1,000 1 Misd 0 – 12 months 0-6 mos. $2,500
only damage <$500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months NA $2,500
46.2-895 Hit and Run attended property (Passenger) Injury or Death 6 Felony 0-5 years 0-6 mos. $2,500
only damage <$500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months 0-6 mos. $2,500
only damage $250 – $500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months NA $2,500
only damage <$250 4 Misd NA NA $250
46.2-896 Hit and Run unattended property (Drivers) only damage <$500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months 0-6 mos. $2,500
only damage $250 – $500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months NA $2,500
only damage <$250 4 Misd NA NA $250
46.2-897 Hit and Run unattended property (Passengers) only damage <$500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months 0-6 mos. $2,500
only damage $250 – $500 1 Misd 0 – 12 months NA $2,500
only damage <$250 4 Misd NA NA $250
46.2-371 Driver to give immediate notice of accident Injury or Death 4 Misd NA NA $250

Hit-and-Run Defense in Virginia

Because Virginia hit-and-run law is so complicated, it is easy for the police or the prosecution to make mistakes that can benefit your case. For example, in Virginia a police officer cannot arrest you or write you a ticket for misdemeanor hit-and-run without a warrant in most situations. If the police wrote you a ticket for hit-and-run or arrested you for hit-and-run and they did not have an arrest warrant, contact Nichols & Green PLLC today to find out if you have a valid defense.

With ample experience under their belts and extensive technological knowledge they can use to build powerful defenses, hit-and-run defense lawyers Luke Nichols and Garrett Green are exceptionally qualified to represent you.

Hit-and-Run Defense Attorneys

Contact the defense lawyers of Nichols & Green for a free consultation regarding your hit-and-run case. If your freedom, your career, your security clearance or your driver’s license is in jeopardy, we will take the time to understand your case, answer your questions and clearly explain what we will be able to do for you.

Print Page